Find out how a DUI & DWI work.
glass of alcohol
 I. DUI vs. DWI: What’s the Difference?

It all has to do with your BAC level. If your BAC is 0.08 or above and you are operating a motor vehicle, you are considered DUI. If you have alcohol in your system but your BAC is below 0.08, it is considered a DWI in Oklahoma.

II. Penalties for DUI in Oklahoma

Your 1st DUI:

  • 10 days to 1 year in jail.
  • Fine of up to $1,000.
  • Driver’s License suspended for 30 to 180 days.

Your 2nd DUI:

  • 1-5 years in prison.
  • Fine of up to $2,500.

Your 3rd DUI:

  • 1-10 years in prison.
  • Fine of up to $5,000.


III. What do I say when stopped for a DUI or DWI?

Don’t admit any guilt. It is a constitutional right to not self-incriminate yourself. In any circumstance, you should not attempt to negotiate yourself out of an arrest, because anything you say can and will be used against you. What you should do is be polite and say you need to speak to an attorney before answering question.

III. What kind of signs do police look for when investigating a DUI?

When looking for potential DUIs, police often stop people for minor moving violations like speeding, improper lane change, rolling a stop sign, etc. When stopped, police then look for indications of intoxication like:

  • Bloodshot or watery eyes
  • Flushed face
  • Odor of alcohol
  • Slurred speech
  • Messy appearance
  • Poor or delayed motor skills
  • Difficulty balancing